Skip to main content
Serving the Cobb County community since 1988,
By Culture and By Merit.
HomeAbout Us
About Us

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, Rho Zeta Omega Chapter had its beginnings in...

March 1987 when, Mrs. Mae Carter Danzy conceived an idea to bring together a group of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated members in the North Suburban Atlanta area with the intention of chartering a graduate chapter that was committed to serving the local community. Mrs. Danzy contacted seven (7) sorority members that she knew who lived close by, and spent additional weeks identifying and contacting other sorority members in the area.

The first meeting was held on April 4, 1987 at Zion Baptist Church with approximately 21 sorority members present. The group expressed a genuine desire and commitment in establishing a North Suburban Atlanta chapter. On May 2, 1987, North Suburban Atlanta Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. interest group was officially established.

The group was very active in the North Suburban Atlanta community, upholding the ideals of public service that were established by our founders and continued throughout our history. Service projects that were sponsored included a clothing drive, holiday dinner for an underprivileged family, toiletry kits, school supplies and birthday parties for abused women and children, as well as blankets, coats and warm clothing for homeless people in shelters. Members of the group also joined other sororities, fraternities, and community groups in supporting and attending the Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday celebration in Cobb County.

Rho Zeta Omega Chapter was chartered as a graduate chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. on April 30, 1988 by Frederica Wilson, South Atlantic Regional Director.

The following forty-five sorority members are Rho Zeta Omega charter members:
Yvonne Bates, Traci Jackson, Sylvia Bean, Felita Johnson, Zita Blankenship, Phyllis Kitchens, Mamie Brown, Rowena McDaniel, Melisandra Browning, Yolanda McGhee, Kimberley Bunch,  Janice Minor, Emma Byrd, Debbie Monroe, *Beverly Campbell, Patricia Perkins, Yvonne Carter, Lois Philips, Jeanette Cogdell, Yvonne Prater, Beverly Cox, *Shirley Redd, *Mae Carter Danzy, Georgia Reed, Vaniesa Davis, Cathye Robinson, Vida Durant-Coleman, Patricia Simmons, Laverne Evans, Carolyn McDaniel, Regina Fincher, Regina Tucker, *Joyce Smith Gardner, Deborah Wallace, Phyllis Gordon, Diane Wilkerson, Renita Gwyn, Sherryl Wilkins, Gwendolyn Hall, Mabel Williams, Sherree Harris, Portia Wills, Pamela Hawkins, Patricia Sawyer and *Cenette Jackson.

The following members were installed as chapter officers:

President: *Mae Carter Danzy
Vice President: Beverly Cox
Secretary: Sherree Harris
Treasurer: *Joyce Smith Gardner
Financial Secretary: Traci Jackson
Correspondence Secretary: Kimberley Bunch
Courtesy: Regina Tucker
Ivy Leaf Reporter: Pamela Hawkins
Parliamentarian: Phyllis Gordon
Chaplain: Laverne Evans

*Deceased member